Real Estate Services

The Alaska Railroad Corporation (ARRC) owns real estate holdings consisting of approximately 36,228 acres of land. Of this amount, roughly 13,738 acres or 38 percent are devoted to right-of-way and another 4,520 acres or 12 percent are used for railroad operations. The remaining 17,970 acres or 50 percent is available for lease.

ARRC owns reserves in Seward, Crown Point, Portage, Whittier, Anchorage, Talkeetna, Curry, Hurricane, Healy, Clear, Nenana, Fairbanks, Valdez, Birchwood and Eagle River. Real Estate income is used as a source of funds for sustaining the railroad's transportation assets. Land is currently available for lease or permit.

In a joint effort the ARRC implemented and designed the lease handbook for community leaders, planners, and commercial parties as a guide to the process and opportunities specific to leasing Alaska Railroad lands.
 

Real Estate Announcements

 

New! Residential Right-of-Way Use Permits

In November 2013, the Alaska Railroad (ARRC) Board of Directors approved a policy to guide residential use (gardens, yards, sheds, storage, etc.) of the railroad right-of-way (ROW).  The ARRC Real Estate Department has since developed a permit application. More information is included on the Residential ROW Use Permit page.

 

New Real Estate Informational Brochures

pdf icon Alaska Railroad Intermodal Terminal & Facilities in Seward. Checkout our new Seward Intermodal Infrastructure brochure, which outlines railroad dock facilities, supporting uplands and harbor services available to businesses and developers seeking new opportunities in Seward. Printed copies are available from the Real Estate office in Anchorage (see contact information below). 

pdf icon Eklutna Rail-linked Birchwood Industrial Park. Checkout a new brochure created jointly with Eklutna, Inc. to provide information about Southcentral Alaska's premier industrial development featuring 160 acres that can accommodate a number of parcels. Centrally located between Anchorage and the Mat-Su Valley the park is adjacent to the Alaska Railroad's Birchwood rail yard, connecting the site to the state's railbelt, and providing a rail link to the Lower 48 via Whittier-to-Seattle rail-barge service. More information about leasing park land is available from Eklutna, Inc.'s web site: www.Eklutnainc.com
 

Real Estate and Facilities Contact Information

Anchorage AK Headquarters
Fax:     (907) 265-2450
Address:     PO Box 107500
Anchorage, AK 99510-7500

Jim Kubitz, VP of Real Estate and Facilities

E-mail: kubitzj@akrr.com
Phone:     (907) 265-2428 

Real Estate Contacts

Karen Morrissey
Director of Real Estate
E-mail: morrisseyk@akrr.com
Phone: (907) 265-2617
Andrew Donovan
Leasing Manager
E-mail: donovana@akrr.com
Phone: (907) 265-2325
Kellyan Taylor
Real Estate Leasing Technician
E-mail:taylork@akrr.com
Phone: (907) 265-2466
Douglas Stephens
Land Services Manager
E-mail: stephensd@akrr.com
Phone: (907) 265-2469
Russell Grandel
Environmental Engineer
E-mail:grandelr@akrr.com
Phone:     (907) 265-2429

Vacant
Manager, Contracts & Billing
E-mail:
Phone:   

Carlos E. Paez
Permit Technician
E-mail: paezc@akrr.com
Phone:   (907) 265-2674
Muriel Lewis
Real Estate Technician
E-mail:lewism@akrr.com
Phone:  (907) 265-2277
Bruce Shelt
Real Estate Technician
Email:sheltb@akrr.com
Phone:(907)265-2670
     

Facilities Contacts

Paul Farnsworth
Director, Facilities
E-mail: farnsworthp@akrr.com
Phone:     (907) 265-2540
Shane Maloney
Manager Facilities Contracts
E-mail: malonys@akrr.com
Phone:     (907) 265-2216
 
 

Seward Dock

 
Louis Bencardino
ARRC Seward Dock
Dock Manager 
Email: bencardinol@akrr.com
Phone: (907) 265-2696   Cell: (907) 362-1079
Fax:  (907) 265-2660
Christy Terry
ARRC Seward Dock Operations Manager
Phone: (907) 265-2209
 
 

Whittier/DeLong Dock

 

Lester Lunceford
Dock Manager, Whittier
Email: luncefordl@akrr.com
Phone: (907) 265-2661     Cell:  (907) 748-7241
Fax:  (907) 265-2652